Blancpain Endurance Series - Total 24 Hours of Spa


Dominant First Win For Audi at Total 24 Hours of Spa



For thirteen hours the nr33 Audi Sport Team WRT (Belgian Audi Club) Audi R8 LMS of Timo Scheider, Greg Franchi and Matthias Ekstrom led the largest field of cars to take part in the Total 24 Hours of Spa for many years and after completing 545 laps Scheider took the chequered flag to record his second win, and Audi’s first, in the world’s second oldest 24 hour race. The Audi finished two laps ahead of the nr76 Need for Speed Team Schubert BMW Z4 of Dirk Werner, Edward Sandstroem and Claudia Huertgen, after Huertgen started from 49th on the 62 car grid.

The third placed car was 10 laps behind the leading Audi at the end of the 24 Hours, with the nr35 Black Falcon Mercedes SLS AMG making it to the podium despite some mechanical and physical woes during the race. However Kenneth Heyer, Stephane Lemeret and Thomas Jager battled on and were rewarded with a podium finish for their and the team's efforts.

The Pro-Am Cup was a closer fought affair with the nr2 Vita4One Ferrari looking good for victory until it was excluded for not coming in for to serve a pitlane violation penalty. This left the nr20 SOFREV ASP Ferrari of Ludovic Badey, Franck Morel, Guillaume Moreau and Jean-Luc Beaubelique and the nr90 Team Preci Spark Mercedes SLS AMG fighting it out for the victory, with the Ferrari winning through. The nr50 AF Corse Ferrari of Matt Griffin, Jack Gerber, Marco Cioci and Niki Cadei was third.

Victory in the Gentlemen Trophy was secured by the nr 19 Level Racing Porsche 997 of Christoff Corten, Brody, Matijs Harkems and Kurt Dujardin after the leading Muhlner Motorsport Porsche of Martin Rich, Tim Bergmeister, Sebastien Asch and Jochen Krumbach had to pit for a new gearbox, dropping it back to second in class.

The Cup Class was won by the nr56 RMS Porsche 997 of Marc Faggionato, Thierry Stepnec, Thierry Prignaud and Franck Racinet, finishing 28 laps ahead of their nearest rival.

The GT4 Class win went to the nr63 RJN Motorsport Nissan 370Z of Alex Buncombe, Chris Ward and Jordan Tresson after the class leading Lotus Evora of Greg Mansell, Eduardo Piscopo, Leo Mansell and Gianni Giudici went out in spectacular fashion when the engine let go. Despite electrical problems the Nissan reached the chequered flag , finishing 11 laps ahead of the nr100 DVB Racing BMW of Christophe Legrand, Raffaele Sangiuolo, Giuseppe de Pasquale and Wolfgang Haugg

CLICK HERE for the provisional result of the Total 24 Hours of Spa and Round 3 of the Blancpain Endurance Series and also the results at 6, 12 and 18 hours.

CLICK HERE for the full hourly timesheets (PDF Format - under R3: Spa)

CLICK HERE for the provisional Championship Positions after Round 3 (PDF Format)

The Hour by Hour updates in the news section of the official website will provide all the background information to the race. The Spa 24 Blog HERE also gives information, driver quotes and images from the entire 24 Hours of Spa from start to finish.

The next round of the Blancpain Endurance Series is at Magny Cour on Saturday 27th August for a 3-hour evening race.