Marc VDS wins at Silverstone as champions are crowned


The nr40 Marc VDS Racing Team BMW Z4 of Bas Leinders, Markus Palttala and Maxime Martin was the strongest car in the 3-hour race at Silverstone, with Martin taking the chequered flag to claim the second win of the season.  The victory gave Markus Palttala enough point to claim the Vice Champions position behind Greg Franchi as 5th place for the nr33 Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi R8 was enough to confirm the Belgian driver as teh 2011 Blancpain Endurance Series Pro Cup Champion.

The nr40 BMW finished 28 seconds ahead of the nr32 Belgian Audi Club Audi R8, with Stephane Ortelli claiming the second step on the podium for himself, Bert Longin and Filipe Albuquerque with a last lap move at Abbey on the nr29 Vita4One Ferrari 458 of Giacomo Petrobelli.

The Pro-AM Cup was claimed by Niek Hommerson and Louis Machiels when Michael Bartels took the chequered flag in 8th overall and win the Pro-Am class, finishing ahead of the nr90 Team Preci Spark Mercedes of David and Godfrey Jones and the nr24 Blancpain Reiter Lamborghini of Marc A Hayek and Peter Kox.  The win also confirmed Vita4One as the GT3 Pro-Am Cup Team Champions.

The GT3 Gentlemen Trophy win went to the nr22 Sport Garage Ferrari 430 Scuderia of Lionel Comole, Chris Dymond and Robert Hissom, with second place for George Cabannes confirming the Frenchman as GT3 Gentlemen Trophy Champion in the Ruffier Racing Lamborghini, also confirming the Team trophy for the French team. Third in the Gentlemen Trophy Class went to the GT3 Cup Champion Sergio Negroni, who was racing the De Lorenzi Racing Porsche with Luigi Emiliani and Marco Cassera.

The GT4 Cup victory went to the Lotus Sport Italia Lotus of Greg Mansell, Edoardo Piscopo and Leo Mansell, but second place for the RJN Motorsport Nissan 370Z of Chris Ward, Jordan Tresson and Alex Buncombe gave the drivers and the teams enough points to be confirmed as the 2011 GT4 Cup Champions.