Raceweekends Blog

11.07.2013 / Raceweekends

Super Trofeo Asia | Round 2 - Sepang


Last year a new milestone in Blancpain history was created at the Sepang International circuit, as it was this prestigious track chosen to launch the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Series in the Asian continent. After a spectacular start to this year’s season at the Shanghai International Circuit, this second round of the Super Trofeo Asia Series 2013, presented by the Italian manufacturer of luxury sports cars Automobili Lamborghini and  Blancpain, gave spectators an exhilarating first performance.

This race brings Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo to a whole new level of diversity, welcoming two new Malaysian teams, the celebrated actor and singer Ryu Si-won from Korea, and for the first time ever two female competitors, Rally Marina Sa from Indonesia and Mika Kagoshima from Japan. Gentlemen drivers from Indonesia, who joined the race in four different cars, brought further thrills to the series.

Gentlemen drivers discussing the race strategy

Under tropical conditions and a track proceeded by name, gentlemen drivers entered the nerve-racking heat and blistering track features of the world renowned Sepang International Circuit.

In group A, having climbed the positioning board with a mind for persistence and an eye on the podium, it was Kazushi Kitaura and Hideto Yasuoka (#10) from Japan whose epic performance won them the well deserved first place. Home representing team Malagamuwa/Chuan (#69) of Malaysia and Sri Lanka triggered emotional excitement as they demonstrated extraordinary determination to finish in second place.

After leading the starting grid following a tremendous best lap time in the qualifying rounds, victors from Shanghai Wiser/Xin (#9) finished third in this exciting first race. In group B, drivers drifted in and out of poll position in a fierce contest for final victory that saw Andrea Garbagnati (#6) take the overall victory. Taking to the podium for the very first time in this year’s championship were China’s Zheng Ting and Steven Lin (#66), whose second place victory was followed by Jeff Lu (#38) of Taiwan in third, who also made his glorious debut onto the podium.

Fierce competition on the track

On Sunday saw an inspiring race performance from Group A fill the circuit with a gleaming sensation of pride as the champion emerged as Malaysia's very own Afiq Yazid (#2), whose leading position throughout the majority of the race set uncompromising standards for the other drivers following eagerly behind. Making their fourth consecutive podium finish in this year's championship, highly successful team Wiser/Xin (#9) of China made an impressive return to the front to win second place. From Japan, Yakinori Taniguchi (#12) displayed remarkable determination and driving skills that won him third place and indeed his debut victory in the Lamborghini Blancpain Super Trofeo Asia Series. In Group B, quenching his continued thirst for success was Andrea Garbagnati, a victory hotly contested for by Xu Peng Kai and Zhang Zhen Dong (#7) from China, whose impressive skills throughout this tournament were justly rewarded with the second place. After an impressive pursuit leading group B for quite some time, Han Lin and Hanss Lin of Taiwan (#36) demonstrated remarkable skills as they came in for a well earned 3rd place.

Winning teams celebrating after an intense competition